Digital Social Studies Resources available to students and teachers in the Madison-Oneida BOCES region.
(Check your School Library's Database page for more resources purchased specifically for your school.)
Database Resources
Gale World History in Context
Grades 7-12
History content from a variety of sources: reference books, magazines, scientific journals, newspapers, websites, images, and more.
Features:
- Text-to-speech
- Citation maker
- Highlight and insert notes
- Export articles or notes to Google Drive or OneDrive
Tip: Use the Browse Topics feature to identify and preview possible research topics.
Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the History/Geography topic find and click on World History in Context. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.
Camden
Camden MS
Camden HS
Canastota
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Otto Shortell MS
Oneida HS
Rome
Strough MS
Rome Free Academy
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
VVS MS/HS
ABC CLIO Daily Life Through History
Grades 7-12
Daily Life through History explores ordinary life through time and across the globe, bringing the past to life through details and insights that turn flat descriptions of historical characters into real, “just like me” human beings.
Features:
- Nearly 6,000 primary and secondary sources, including overview essays, cultural documents, photos, maps, audio/video clips, and statistics
- “Analyze” sections that pose intriguing questions, offer various viewpoints on each topic, and encourage students to form their own opinions
- Teacher resources and lesson plans for grades 9-12 that are fully correlated to state and National Council for Social Studies standards
Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the History/Geography or Social Studies topic find and click on ABC-CLIO DAILY LIFE THROUGH HISTORY. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.
Camden
Camden MS
Camden HS
Canastota
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Otto Shortell MS
Oneida HS
Rome
Strough MS
Rome Free Academy
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
VVS MS/HS
Gale Opposing Viewpoints
Grades 7-12
Articles and statistics from magazines, newspapers, and reference sources present both sides of more than 1,000 hot button issues from Abortion to Zero-Tolerance Policies. Sources include both opinion pieces and balanced background articles.
Features:
- Text-to-speech
- Citation maker
- Highlight and insert notes
- Export articles or notes to Google Drive or OneDrive
Tip: Use the Browse Topics feature to identify and preview possible research topics.
Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Pro/Con topic find and click on Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context). When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.
Camden
Camden MS
Camden HS
Canastota
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Otto Shortell MS
Oneida HS
Rome
Strough MS
Rome Free Academy
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
VVS MS/HS
BrainPop & BrainPop Jr.
Grades 3+
Short animated videos with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music
Grades K-3
BrainPOP Jr. movies – each running three to five minutes – serve as an engaging way to introduce, review, or further explore a concept
Features:
- Designed to cultivate critical thinking skills and encourage children to ask questions
- Simple navigation so early learners can explore on their own
- Search by Standard, Grade, and Subject and get a customized list of BrainPop content that directly connects to that standard
Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Video topic find and click on BrainPop or BrainPop Jr. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.
Camden
Camden Elementary
McConnellsville Elementary
Camden MS
Canastota
Peterboro Street Elementary
Southside Elementary
Roberts Street Elementary
Hamilton
Hamilton Elementary
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
ER Andrews Elementary
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Durhamville Elementary
North Broad Elementary
Seneca Street Elementary
Willard Prior Elementary
Otto Shortell MS
Rome
Bellamy Elementary
Denti Elementary
Gansevoort Elementary
John Joy Elementary
Ridge Mills Elementary
Staley Elementary
Stokes Elementary
Strough MS
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
JD George Elementary
McAllister Elementary
Wettel Elementary
eBook Resources
SORA by Overdrive
Grades 6-12
Thousands of eBooks and hundreds of Audiobooks available to borrow by students!
SORA Reading Book Bundle - Nonfiction (Login required)
SORA Reading Book Bundle - Fiction (Login required)
- Hundreds of Simultaneous Use titles now available until June 30, 2020
- Big Library Read available until April 13
- Sora Sweet Reads
Find out more... Sora Resource Guide
Login instructions can be found here...
Use your school Google or Office login.
TrueFlix
Grades 3 and up
Offering hundreds of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix® is a highly-engaging multimedia resource that can be used in the library, the classroom, on mobile devices, or at home.
Features:
- Thousands of Science and Social Studies resources in a variety of media
- Students gain a 360 degree understanding of the topic
- Use videos to introduce a topic and key vocabulary
- Project ideas available for topics
- Perfect for flipping the classroom - have students explore a topic on their own and come to class ready to participate in critical thinking activities
Tips:
- Every Trueflix™ topic is accompanied by a lesson plan with teaching activities that are tied to the specific content of that Trueflix™ topic. Every lesson plan includes a discussion of the Trueflix™ video and a review of vocabulary words used in the TrueFlix™ flipbook. Each also provides a small-group activity based on the flipbook and a project idea.
Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the eBooks topic find and click on TrueFlix. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.
Camden
Camden Elementary
McConnellsville Elementary
Camden MS
Camden HS
Canastota
Southside Elementary
Roberts Street Elementary
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton Elementary
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
ER Andrews Elementary
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Durhamville Elementary
North Broad Elementary
Seneca Street Elementary
Willard Prior Elementary
Otto Shortell MS
Oneida HS
Rome
Bellamy Elementary
Denti Elementary
Gansevoort Elementary
John Joy Elementary
Ridge Mills Elementary
Staley Elementary
Stokes Elementary
Strough MS
Rome Free Academy
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
JD George Elementary
McAllister Elementary
Wettel Elementary
VVS MS/HS
Media Resources
Learn 360
Grades K-12
150,000+ media resources for teachers and students. All subjects, all K-12 grades. Our collection includes the following:
After login to the Media Catalog click the Learn 360 icon to be redirected to the Learn 360 website.
Students may access streaming resources using a generic building username & password. If you need login info please contact your school librarian or email cbrewer@moboces.org.
Features:
- Videos for all content areas.
- Searchable by Standards
- Create your own playlists
Tips:
- Share to Google Classroom Feature. Learn more here.
CCC! Streaming Media
Grades K-12
7,000 K-12 Programs in all subject areas, aligned to state and Next Generation Science Standards. Teacher's Guides, Student Activities and Knowledge Check quizzes for each video.
After login to the Media Catalog click the CCC! Video on Demand icon to be redirected to the CCC! website.
Students may access streaming resources using a generic building username & password. If you need login info please contact your school librarian or email cbrewer@moboces.org.
Features:
- Videos for all content areas.
- Searchable by Standards
Tips:
- Share to Google Classroom Feature. Learn more here.
Other Resources
PBS LearningMedia - Social Studies
Access thousands of free, innovative, standards-aligned and curriculum-targeted digital resources. Includes videos, lesson plans, and interactive tools.
Features:
- Content can be shared to Google Classroom by clicking on the Share To Google Classroom in the bar above the resource.
- Content can be searched by Standard
Khan Academy - Social Studies
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
Find out more here.
Features:
- Content can be shared to Google Classroom using the Share to Google Classroom button, which is currently available for all videos and articles in Khan Academy.
Regents Review Videos
One-hour long review videos for each Regents exam created by teachers. Underneath each video is list of other study resources and additional resources for teachers.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
These digital resources focus on American history, the performing arts, world culture and history, government and politics, war and military, folklife, architecture, photography, geography, women's history, religion and more. Resource formats include video, digital photographs, transcripts and are excellent primary sources.