Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

| MOBOCES SLS/CIS Home | SLS Resources | Media Library | Professional Development |

ResourceToolkit: Science

Digital Toolkit LogoDigital Science Resources available to students and teachers in the Madison-Oneida BOCES region. 
(Check your School Library's Database page for more resources purchased specifically for your school.)


Database Resources

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Grades 7-12

Articles and statistics from magazines, newspapers, and reference sources present both sides of more than 1,000 hot button issues from Abortion to Zero-Tolerance Policies. Sources include both opinion pieces and balanced background articles. 

Features: 

  • Text-to-speech
  • Citation maker
  • Highlight and insert notes
  • Export articles or notes to Google Drive or OneDrive

Tip: Use the Browse Topics feature to identify and preview possible research topics.

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Pro/Con topic find and click on Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context). When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Camden
Camden MS
Camden HS
Canastota
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Otto Shortell MS
Oneida HS
Rome
Strough MS
Rome Free Academy
​Stockbridge-Valley

Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
VVS MS/HS

BrainPop & BrainPop Jr.

BrainPop Logo

Grades 3+

Short animated videos with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music

BrainPop Jr

Grades K-3

BrainPOP Jr. movies – each running three to five minutes – serve as an engaging way to introduce, review, or further explore a concept

Features:

  • Designed to cultivate critical thinking skills and encourage children to ask questions
  • Simple navigation so early learners can explore on their own
  • Search by Standard, Grade, and Subject and get a customized list of BrainPop content that directly connects to that standard

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Video topic find and click on BrainPop or BrainPop Jr. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Camden
Camden Elementary
McConnellsville Elementary
Camden MS
Canastota
Peterboro Street Elementary
Southside Elementary
Roberts Street Elementary
Hamilton
Hamilton Elementary
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
ER Andrews Elementary
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
​Durhamville Elementary
North Broad Elementary
Seneca Street Elementary
Willard Prior Elementary
Otto Shortell MS
Rome
Bellamy Elementary
Denti Elementary
Gansevoort Elementary
John Joy Elementary
Ridge Mills Elementary
Staley Elementary
Stokes Elementary
Strough MS
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
JD George Elementary
McAllister Elementary
Wettel Elementary

eBook Resources

SORA by Overdrive

Sora Logo

Grades 6-12

Thousands of eBooks and hundreds of Audiobooks available to borrow by students!

No Wait Science Titles! (Login required)
SORA Remote Reading Bundle - Nonfiction (Login required)

Sora on the web

Login instructions can be found here...

Getting Started Guide

Important InfoUse your school Google or Office login.

Arbordale

Arbordale Logo

Grades PK-5

Fiction and nonfiction picture books available on computers & mobile devices. Many tied to NGSS Science Standards.

Features:

  • Award-winning, dual-language, STEM, interactive eBooks
  • Many books have accompanying teacher activity guide
  • Read aloud in English and Spanish
  • Word highlighting and speed control
  • Animals screech, roar, and howl when tapped
  • Each book has Lexile, A/R and F & P Level

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the eBooks topic find and click on Arbordale eBooks. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Camden
Camden Elementary
McConnellsville Elementary
Canastota
Peterboro Street Elementary
SouthSide Elementary
Roberts Street Elementary
Hamilton
Hamilton Elementary
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
ER Andrews Elementary
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
​Durhamville Elementary
North Broad Elementary
Seneca Street Elementary
Willard Prior Elementary
Rome
Bellamy Elementary
Denti Elementary
Gansevoort Elementary
John Joy Elementary
Ridge Mills Elementary
Staley Elementary
Stokes Elementary
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
JD George Elementary
McAllister Elementary
Wettel Elementary

TrueFlix

TrueFlix Logo

Grades 3 and up

Offering hundreds of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix® is a highly-engaging multimedia resource that can be used in the library, the classroom, on mobile devices, or at home.

Find out more here

Features:

  • ​​Thousands of Science and Social Studies resources in a variety of media
  • Students gain a 360 degree understanding of the topic
  • Use videos to introduce a topic and key vocabulary
  • Project ideas available for topics
  • Perfect for flipping the classroom - have students explore a topic on their own and come to class ready to participate in critical thinking activities

Tips: 

  • Every Trueflix™ topic is accompanied by a lesson plan with teaching activities that are tied to the specific content of that Trueflix™ topic. Every lesson plan includes a discussion of the Trueflix™ video and a review of vocabulary words used in the TrueFlix™ flipbook. Each also provides a small-group activity based on the flipbook and a project idea.

Media Resources

TigTag Jr.

TigTag Jr Logo

Grades K-1

A digital resource for Science. Thousands of three-minute films, as well as worksheets, lesson plans, quizzes and diagrams! Aligned to NY State Science and NGSS Standards & Searchable by Standard. Everything you need to plan and teach outstanding science lessons!

 

After login to the Media Catalog click the TigTag Jr icon to be redirected to the TigTag Jr website.

Snap Logo

Username:  

Password:  
  If you have forgotten your password click here to reset it   Need an account? Click here to request

Important infoStudents may access streaming resources using a generic building username & password. If you need login info please contact your school librarian or email cbrewer@moboces.org.

Features: 

  • These two-minute films capture children’s imaginations and place their learning in the context of the world around them.
  • Searchable by NYS & NGSS Standard
  • Mindmap organized into three modules – Living things, The world around us and Our universe

TigTag

TigTag Logo

Grades 2-5

Tigtag has everything you need to plan and teach outstanding science and geography lessons for grades 2–5. Aligned to NY State Science and NGSS Standards & Searchable by Standard.

 

After login to the Media Catalog click the TigTag icon to be redirected to the TigTag website.

Snap Logo

Username:  

Password:  
  If you have forgotten your password click here to reset it   Need an account? Click here to request

Important infoStudents may access streaming resources using a generic building username & password. If you need login info please contact your school librarian or email cbrewer@moboces.org.

Features: 

  • Each Tigtag lesson has a number of original videos, designed to cover your key learning objectives in a clear and engaging way.
  • Each Tigtag lesson contains at least one curriculum video, one context video and four to five shorter Tidbit videos.
  • Searchable by NYS & NGSS Standard
  • Mindmap organized into four modules – Physical science: Forces and interactions, Physical science: Matter and materials, Life processes and Earth and space science.

Twig

TWIG Logo 

Grades 6-12

A digital resource for Science and Math. Thousands of three-minute films, as well as worksheets, lesson plans, quizzes and diagrams! Aligned to NY State Science and NGSS Standards & Searchable by Standard. Everything you need to plan and teach outstanding science lessons!

 

After login to the Media Catalog click the TWIG icon to be redirected to the TWIG website.

Snap Logo

Username:  

Password:  
  If you have forgotten your password click here to reset it   Need an account? Click here to request

Important infoStudents may access streaming resources using a generic building username & password. If you need login info please contact your school librarian or email cbrewer@moboces.org.

Features: 

  • Twig offers over 1700 short videos, created specifically for the classroom.
  • Searchable by NYS & NGSS Standard
  • Mindmap organized into subjects, modules, and topics.
  • Twig Experiments offers over 300 short videos covering 81 key experiments.

Learn 360

Learn 360 Logo 

Grades K-12

150,000+ media resources for teachers and students. All subjects, all K-12 grades. Our collection includes the following:

K-12 Collection LogoHS Collection LogoCTE Collection Logo

 

After login to the Media Catalog click the Learn 360 icon to be redirected to the Learn 360 website.

Snap Logo

Username:  

Password:  
  If you have forgotten your password click here to reset it   Need an account? Click here to request

Important infoStudents may access streaming resources using a generic building username & password. If you need login info please contact your school librarian or email cbrewer@moboces.org.

Features: 

  • Videos for all content areas.
  • Searchable by Standards
  • ​Create your own playlists

Tips:

CCC! Streaming Media

CCC! Streaming Media Logo

Grades K-12

7,000 K-12 Programs in all subject areas, aligned to state and Next Generation Science Standards. Teacher's Guides, Student Activities and Knowledge Check quizzes for each video.

 

 

After login to the Media Catalog click the CCC! Video on Demand icon to be redirected to the CCC! website.

Snap Logo

Username:  

Password:  
  If you have forgotten your password click here to reset it   Need an account? Click here to request

Important infoStudents may access streaming resources using a generic building username & password. If you need login info please contact your school librarian or email cbrewer@moboces.org.

Features: 

  • Videos for all content areas.
  • Searchable by Standards

Tips:

Other Resources

PBS LearningMedia - Science

PBS LearningMedia

Access thousands of free, innovative, standards-aligned and curriculum-targeted digital resources. Includes videos, lesson plans, and interactive tools.

Physics Girl SID the Science Kid NOVA Scientific Discovery

Features: 

  • Content can be shared to Google Classroom by clicking on the Share To Google Classroom in the bar above the resource.
  • Content can be searched by Standard

Find out how here

Khan Academy - Science

Khan Academy Logo

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. 

Find out more here.

Features: 

  • Content can be shared to Google Classroom using the Share to Google Classroom button, which is currently available for all videos and articles in Khan Academy.

Regents Review Videos

  

One-hour long review videos for each Regents exam created by teachers. Underneath each video is list of other study resources and additional resources for teachers.