Madison-Oneida BOCES SLS: ResourceToolkit: General Resources (K-12)

Encyclopedias

WorldBook

WorldBook Online

Grades PK-12

When you need fast, reliable information for homework, reports, or just a lingering question, World Book Online is the place to go. A suite of seven databases geared toward specific age ranges and abilities, from the youngest learners to adults.

Features:

A colorful, approachable look and feel with articles written at your student's level
Illustrations and pictures, maps, audio files, videos, games, research tools, ebooks, activities, educator tools, primary source documents, and more
Easy access on desktops, laptops, and tablets

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Encyclopedia topic find and click on desired WorldBook product. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Camden
Camden Elementary
McConnellsville Elementary
Camden MS
Camden HS
Canastota
Peterboro Street Elementary
Southside Elementary
Roberts Street Elementary
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton Elementary
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
ER Andrews Elementary
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Durhamville Elementary
North Broad Elementary
Seneca Street Elementary
Willard Prior Elementary
Otto Shortell MS
Oneida HS
Rome
Bellamy Elementary
Denti Elementary
Gansevoort Elementary
John Joy Elementary
Ridge Mills Elementary
Staley Elementary
Stokes Elementary
Strough MS
Rome Free Academy
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
JD George Elementary
McAllister Elementary
Wettel Elementary
VVS MS/HS

Scholastic GO!

Grades 2-12

115,000 expertly written articles covering every core curriculum subject are sortable by Lexile level. 80,000 curated and editorially vetted websites support further learning through additional credible sources.

Features:

Follow up with hands-on projects, lesson plans, and more.
Email articles or export them to Google Classroom
Lesson plan library
Search for articles by subject or curriculum standard
Read aloud feature to support struggling readers and
ELL students

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Encyclopedia topic find and click on Scholastic GO!. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Camden
Camden Elementary
McConnellsville Elementary
Canastota
Roberts Street Elementary
Morrisville-Eaton
ER Andrews Elementary
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Rome
Bellamy Elementary
Denti Elementary
Gansevoort Elementary
John Joy Elementary
Ridge Mills Elementary
Staley Elementary
Stokes Elementary
Rome Free Academy
VVS
McAllister Elementary
Wettel Elementary

Britannica School Edition

Britannica School Edition Logo
Provided by Novel NY

Grades PK-12

Britannica School is an online encyclopedia and more! A go-to site for learning more about any subject-for all grades and all reading abilities. Offers three separate databases - Elementary, Middle, or High.

Features:

Built-in support for differentiated learning allows students to change reading levels with one simple click.
Read-aloud, a font size adjuster, and built-in translation tools support students with special needs and ELLs.
Integration with Britannica ImageQuest offers a streamlined ability to explore millions of related images right from the search results page (requires subscriptions to both resources).

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Encyclopedia topic find and click on Britannica School Edition. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Newspaper/Magazines

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits
Provided by Novel NY

Grades K-5

Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts, and graphs.

Features:

Browse by category
Tools to create highlights, notes, citations, and download to Google Drive, OneDrive, or their computer
Graphical interface for young children

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Magazines/Newspapers topic find and click on Kids InfoBits. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Newsbank Research Rocket

Grades K-12

ResearchRocket provides relevant articles about all curricular areas through appropriate content for all reading levels. Through easy access students can find information for their class assignments and research while teachers can locate suitable content to support their lesson plans and classroom discussions.

Features:

Browse by topic area
Aligns with all curricular areas
Integration with Google Drive
Easy-to-use citation and sharing tools

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Magazines/Newspapers topic find and click on Newsbank ResearchRocket. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Project Creation

Britannica ImageQuest

Grades PK-12

A database of copyright cleared images for educational content creation

Features:

Over 3 million images from over 62 different collections
Can be used by teachers for lessons, school websites, school newspapers, newsletters
Can be used by students for assignments and projects
Includes citation information for each image - teaches students the importance of citing their resources
Project ideas to incorporate into the classroom

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Images topic find and click on Britannica ImageQuest. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Soundzabound

Grades PK-12

An online music library of royalty-free sounds and music that meet all the licensing requirements needed for education.

Features:

Sounds & music for podcasts, presentations, vidoes, news shows, video yearbooks, digital storytelling, TV broadcasts, and web design
8 Volumes of Music
5 Volumes of Sound effects
Protect yourself & your school community from violating copyright law

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Music/Art topic find and click on Soundzabound. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Other Resources

Middle School - Gale In Context

Gale in Context Middle School
Provided by Novel NY

Grades 6-12

Created specifically for middle school students, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.

Features:

Browse by category
Tools to create highlights, notes, citations, and download to Google Drive, OneDrive, or their computer

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Reference topic find and click on Gale Research in Context. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

High School - Gale In Context

Gale in Context High School

Grades 9-12

This all-in-one database combines articles from subject-area databases in science, history, biography and social issues.

Features:

Text-to-speech
Citation maker
Highlight and insert notes
Export articles or notes to Google Drive or OneDrive

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Reference topic find and click on High School: Gale in Context. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Camden
Camden HS
Canastota
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Oneida HS
Rome
Rome Free Academy
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
VVS MS/HS

Rosen Teen Health & Wellness

Teen Health & Wellness

Grades 7-12

Provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular, and self-help support. Articles are correlated to state, national, and provincial standards, including Common Core Health and Science. Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, LGBTQ+ issues, and more.

Features:

Text-to-Speech and enhanced text visibility ensures all learners can read and succeed
Instant Translation into over 100 languages, including Spanish, French, Chinese, Russian, Arabic, Korean, and more
EasyBib and NoodleTools citation tools allow users to generate article citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago formats
Save articles to Google Drive

Click on your building below to access your 24/7 Database page. Under the Health Science topic find and click on Teen Health & Wellness. When prompted enter your building password. If you need the password please email your school librarian or cbrewer@moboces.org.

Camden
Camden MS
Camden HS
Canastota
Canastota Jr/Sr
Hamilton
Hamilton MS/HS
Madison
Madison Central
MOBOCES
MOBOCES Campus
Morrisville-Eaton
Morrisville-Eaton MS/HS
NYSSD
NYS School for the Deaf
Oneida
Otto Shortell MS
Oneida HS
Rome
Strough MS
Rome Free Academy
Stockbridge-Valley
Stockbridge-Valley Central
VVS
VVS MS/HS

Oh drats! You have landed on one of our archived pages. Please click here to visit our new website.

ResourceToolkit: General Resources (K-12)

WorldBook

Scholastic GO!

Britannica School Edition

Kids InfoBits

Newsbank Research Rocket

Britannica ImageQuest

Soundzabound

Middle School - Gale In Context

High School - Gale In Context

Rosen Teen Health & Wellness