STEAM Collection: Engineering & Building

The Rigamajig is a large-scale building kit used for hands-on free play and learning. This collection of wooden planks, wheels, pulleys, nuts, bolts and rope allows children to follow their curiosity through play. Basic Builder has 260+ parts. Includes two milk crates for small piece storage, 4 small canvas bags to hold the nuts & bolts and a blue canvas cover with a zipper. Cart with contents weighs approximately 149 lbs.

Rigamajig Simple Machines Add-On Kit is a brand new set of Rigamajig components to expand Rigamajig Basic Builder Kit, the large-scale building kit conceived for hands-on play and STE(A)M leaning. Simple Machines Add-On Kit includes gears, a new wheel-pulley, levers, belts, cranks, axles and 2 small canvas bags to hold the nuts & bolts . Simple Machines has 78 parts. Parts come in a blue tote bag.

Roylco Straws and Connectors Building Kit is recommended for pre-K+ years children. The straws fit snugly onto the connectors and are flexible enough to build almost anything. This pliable design allows children to design and create simple shapes or complex structures using connectors and heavy, colorful 8 in straws. This kit used to build houses, forts, spacecrafts. Includes: 135 straws, 105 connectors and 3 illustrated guide sheets.

Strawbees STEAM School kit is a favorite in classrooms, maker spaces and science centers around the world, The kit provides enough pieces for large groups to build many giant projects Immerse your classroom in project-based learning exercises with bridge building challenges, constructing tetrahedral kites, the egg drop, and much more. The kit contains: 2560 Strawbees(4 colors in bags), 1500 Straws (in 6 colors), 105 Idea Cards and 1 Challenge Guide.

The Quirkbot makes your Strawbees creations come to life. Together, they are the world best combination for engineering to programming progression. By learning how to code, you can make a banana piano, an interactive bridge, or make your wearables light up. Kit contains: 1 guide booklet, 50 pink & 50 blue Straws, 1 servo motor +(2 screws & 3 gears), 2 light sensors, 10 LEDs, 1 Quirkbot, 1 servo backpack, 1 electric strawbee, 1 USB cable, 6 alligator clips, 2 servo extension cables, 4 types of strawbee connectors and 1 mini screwdriver inside a small plastic box.

The Crazy Scientist kit upgrades your building experience with 1200 pieces and an instruction manual for 21 projects. Make a morphing arm to extract moon rocks or a geodesic dome base for your next scientific space mission. Contains: 400 straws; 800 white connectors and 1 instruction manual.

Bloxels, a first of its kind technology that enables you to build, capture, design, play and share your very own video games. Designed with blocks, a universal element of childhood play, Bloxels cultivates imagination while encouraging discovery and experimentation. Contains a gameboard and 320 blocks. Included with each box set, the 13-bit Builder Challenge Poster and Guidebook featuring activities to guide you through building your first game.

Getting started with littleBits has never been easier. Base Kit is perfect for kids and younger makers. It includes everything you need to start designing and prototyping your own interactive creations.

The STEAM Student Set combines beautifully balanced PBL with projects kids can relate to and genuine, real-life implications for their learning. Designed to spark lasting change, the STEAM Student Set enables simple and complex inventions that embrace children’s creativity, build their design skills and help them simplify the problem-solving process. With real-world connections emanating from step-by-step project guides, students bolster tech literacy and STEAM skills with curricular connections built right in.

Developed with Korg, the littleBits Synth Kit represents an innovative model of the iconic synthesizer instrument, making it easier for kids to explore electronic music production. The Synth Kit helps pique a genuine interest in music as kids use technology to explore exciting new avenues for composing songs and custom-mixed melodies. Perfect for experiential learning and integrating the arts with technology, the Synth Kit helps music classes burst into the 21st century.

Snap-and-go STEM learning helps kids build projects to explore both the Earth and space in excitingly innovative ways. Featuring step-by-step experiments designed in collaboration with NASA, the Space Kit helps kids absorb and apply key scientific principles earlier than ever. Students take control and the intuitive littleBits modules ignite a creative desire to inquire as kids collaborate to build something that teaches something.

The ultimate learning toolbox helps teachers spark unmatched levels of creativity in inquisitive students with the potential to hand build tools that drive, slide, buzz and blink. With the snap of a circuit, kids can enter an era designed to spark meaningful, beneficial and future-facing fun! By tapping their creativity and building on previously developed skills, the Gizmos & Gadgets Kit helps ensure children build the invention skills necessary to thrive in the real world.

No glue or connectors required...simply stack the precision-milled, solid pine KEVA planks to create buildings, monuments and geometric forms. Its the ideal activity to help kids gain an understanding of balance and proportion, as well as an interest in architecture, building and design. The 400 Plank Set comes with an oversized, black zippered canvas storage bag and a 24-page, full-color idea booklet with build-out instructions. Age Recommendation: Ages 5 and up.

Resource Guide

Young thinkers can build unbelievable ball track structures with this simple stacking plank system. Create ramps, funnels, chutes and crazy contraptions like the "Black Hole" and "Bounce Plate." Then find out if the ball rolls as expected. Fostering unlimited creativity and experimentation, MindWare's KEVA planks build an early understanding of proportion and balance, while teaching basic principles of physics and engineering. No glue, no connectors-just loads of constructive fun. Includes: 400 identical wooden planks, 2 specially designed lightweight balls for maximum action and an 18-page idea book with project photos and quick-start instructions sent in a black KEVA bag with handles.

Resource Guide

Approach KEVA from a whole new angle. Full-color cards include a 2-D building challenge on one side and the solution on the other. Manipulate your KEVA planks to successfully duplicate the balance, proportion, composition and geometry featured on each card. Contains: 20 KEVA planks, 30 double-sided cards, 2 instruction cards in a zippered carrying case. Can be used with KEVA Structures 400 Plank Set (600417) & KEVA Contraptions (600447). Please book separately.

Train young brains to think in multiple dimensions, transferring 2D information into 3D reality. Players use KEVA planks to successfully duplicate the balance, proportion, composition and geometry featured on each card. Brain Builders Junior features a photo of a fun, recognizable object to replicate. Includes 20 KEVA planks, 20 double-sided cards and instructions in a zippered carrying case.

STEAM KIT is a teacher's favorite as ZomeTool took the best features of their Advanced Math, STEM and Classroom Kits and condensed them into this compact and powerful kit. With a single exception*, you can build all of the models featured in their Project Kits. (* You can build the outer shell of the Hyperdo, or the interior of it. But not all of it at the same time.)

ZomeTool has included every single type of part they make in this kit. This means that in addition to their standard Blue, Yellow and Red struts, you will also get Green-lines, Half-Greens and Hypershort reds. ZomeTool also put in 400 White balls PLUS 100 Black balls which make their models look wicked cool and will come in handy for teaching / learning. Kit Contains: 1,248 STRUTS; 500 NODES; TOTAL PARTS 1,748 plus 1 manual 2.3 & green lines instruction sheet. All inside a gray plastic tackle box.

Resource Guide

More than 60 easy-to-follow activities and over 150 explorations will help students discover relationships and understand concepts as they build with Zometool and explore a wide variety of Geometry topics from Secondary level up. Contains: 1 Textbook.

Develops critical skills – playing and building with gravitrax builds spatial reasoning and planning skills, and provides a great stealth learning experience. Design and build your own marble runs and experiment with gravity, magnetism, and kinetics to propel your marble to the finish. With a variety of tiles, levels, tracks and elements, you can control the speed of the marble. Contains: 124 pieces.

Learn basic engineering skills while building your own motorized machines and controlling them with a wireless remote control unit. A unique six-button infrared remote allows kids to control three different motors simultaneously, moving each of them forward or in reverse, with easy-to-activate touch sensors. Make complex vehicles and machines in numerous configurations limited only by your imagination or assemble all 20 models to demonstrate different ways to use the motors. Inspire creativity, design thinking and engineering as kids craft their own remote-controlled creations.

An open-ended magnetic construction toy with an easy click ‘n connect system. 100 colorful, translucent plastics and unique organic shapes that allow for open-ended, free-form, 3D constructions. Organics are for teaching and exploring organic geometry. With building pieces derived from shapes found in nature–such as skeletons, coral reefs, insects and plants–builders may now explore the use of a more organic visual language to replicate any object.

These magically magnetic building pieces make creative construction projects a snap. Vibrant, jewel-toned magnets connect on all sides and come in five geometric shapes including trapezoids, squares and three types of triangles (isosceles, right and equilateral). Young builders can reason with the shapes as they snap together 2D flat art configurations or assemble houses, castles and other 3D creations. Contains: 148 Pc Set with idea sheet in red Storage Bin.

A group kit of cardboard construction tools for many hands to make light work. For libraries, workshops, birthday parties, maker spaces, design studios and delightfully ambitious projects. Includes 360 reusable parts. Perfect for small group projects with 12-24 builders. Ages 4+. Includes 360 reusable parts in a grey bag.

Contains 6 books: 1. "Not A Box" by Antoinette Portis; A box is just a box...unless it's not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows. 2. "The Nowhere Box" by Sam Zuppard; Could George’s escape from his pesky brothers be a bit too successful? An ode to imagination —and annoying but indispensable siblings. 3. "The Cardboard Box Book" by Sarah Powell and Roger Priddy; This incredibly creative book shows kids that by using easy-to-find art and craft materials, the ideas, templates included in the book, and most importantly, a ton of imagination, simple cardboard boxes can be transformed into a robot costume, a princess castle, a circus, and more.

4. "What To Do With A Box" by Jane Yolen; If you give a child a box, who can tell what will happen next? It may become a library or a boat. It could set the scene for a fairy tale or a wild expedition. 5. "Christina Katerina and the Box" by Patricia Lee Gauch; This title speaks right to the heart of those wonderful creative and imaginative moments that come so naturally for children. A huge cardboard box becomes a castle, a clubhouse, a racing car, and more for Christina and her friend, Fats. 6. "Box!" by Noel MacNeal; If you want to take box creativity to the next level (savings banks, desk, sword, computer, savings bank).

ZOOB BuilderZ S.T.E.M. Challenge gives you the tools you need to design and build creations to solve challenges, such as hitting targets and making balls bounce. Dream up ingenious solutions for each test. Learn and apply science, technology, engineering and math (S.T.E.M.) principles. ZOOB is not like any other building set - the pieces include gears, axles and joints that snap, click, and pop together. Contains: 175 classic ZOOB pieces, plus 4 wheels with axles and rubber tires, 1 high-bounce ball 24 rubber bands, 2 foam play pads, string, 26 ZOOB challenge cards, 1 instruction card, 5 instruction guides to build 40 creations.

This tub of 250 brightly-colored pieces comes with 6 instruction guides to make over 30 creations including a ZOOBasuraus or a ZOOBcycle (or create your own). ZOOB is not like any other building set - the pieces include gears, axles and joints that snap, click, and pop together. With rotating, spinning and extendable parts you can actually design a toy to play with, instead of just building something to look at.

Roominate rPower empowers girls through hands-on, open-ended play as they stretch their STEAM wings and build skills they can truly use. Incorporating elements of interactive electricity, rPower helps kids develop design prowess that enriches all creativity-based subjects for the duration of their education. Seeing their hard work come to life with the addition of lights and sound helps children realize the importance of pursuing creative ideas and fostering the relationships between technology and functionality.(2 c

The Roominate School Bus Kit sets STEM skills in motion as kids work with cool components to design and construct their own drivable school bus. Easy-to-follow instruction cards enable the instant addition of electricity all while kids shape basic engineering skills as they strive to create an optimal design throughout the building process. The School Bus incorporates all sides of STEM education, brilliantly helping crafty kids master the principles of circuitry, engineering and imaginative play in a truly mind-strengthening adventure.

The Roominate Townhouse Kit challenges students to put their design skills to the test as they work to build sustainable structures from the ground up. Kids can even incorporate electronics to make the home’s appliances function just like the real thing! The Townhouse is the perfect product for kids to bolster their building skills, connect design concepts to the real world and expand their creativity when it comes to dreaming up the blueprints.