Skip to main content

Social Studies Resources - Rome (Secondary Level): Getting Started

Rome Secondary School Libraries

TIP: From your library's home page, click on OPALS, then 

PW= books

General/Encyclopedic Databases

To access these databases, use the links and tips in the "Rome Secondary School Libraries" box, above.

Brain Pop (Strough only)  Features/Overview

BrainPOP engages students through animated movies, learning games, interactive quizzes, primary source activities, concept mapping, and more. They cover topics within Science, Math, Social Studies, ELA, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Music, Health, Reading, and Writing. 

Britannica Online School Edition  Quick Video Tutorial

The go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.

World Book (various) (Tip: to find World Book databases, click the "vendor" button in the upper right of 24/7 and then scroll down to the "W" section.)                             About WorldBook Databases                         World Book vs. The Web

Gale "In-Context" Databases

To access these databases, use the links and tips in the "Rome Secondary School Libraries" box to the left. 

Research in Context (Gr. 6-12)        What is it?        Quick Video Tutorials  

With a visually appealing search interface, covers the most-studied topics in middle and high school with a variety of resources types: books, images, biographies, audio, video, magazines, newspapers, creative works, primary sources, and more.

U.S. History in Context (Strough Middle, only) (Gr. 7-12)        What is it?      Quick Video Tutorials

Puts historians' tools in the hands of students. Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. 

World History in Context (Gr. 7-12)      What is it?      Quick Video Tutorials

Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gr. 9-12)       What is it?       Quick Video Tutorials

Helps students research, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data, complete writing assignments, prepare for debates, and create presentations. Content includes pro-con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, court cases, magazine articles, statistical tables, charts, graphs, podcasts, and more...

Other Social Studies Databases

The World & I database. 

WorldandISchool.com is an interdisciplinary resource that encompasses a broad range of articles written by scholars and experts in their fields.The Social Studies Page presents over 400 Special Reports encompassing 2,000 articles on U.S. Foreign Policy, Civics & Government, U.S. and World History, Sociology, and more.

Tip: Use this for well-written articles that provide more interesting and current perspectives than textbook articles. Great example: see Shedding Light on Islam collection

How to Save/Share Articles in Gale

  1. Bookmark it to generate a persistent URL. 
  2. Download it to Google Drive or Microsoft One Drive. Instructions.
  3. Share it via Google Classroom. Instructions
  4. Email it. 

Search Media Catalog for Streaming Resources

24/7 Access to streaming eBooks, video, audio, images, and maps!

Images & Audio for Projects